Skip to main content

Library & Learning Services: Journals & Databases

Find It

Find It

Find It searches across a huge range of library resources including databases, e-journals and e-books, and contains full-text articles for students and staff. Start your research here.

Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).

If you want to save links to articles to access later on, you will need to save them as permanent links rather than copying the URLs.  Please see this FAQ for instructions.

Bournemouth University Resources

What are Databases?

Databases give you online access to valuable information including full-text journal articles, abstracts, newspaper articles, guidelines, images and more. Some provide access to full-text articles, whilst others only provide abstract and citation information.

Why use databases?
Learning Services subscribes to most of these databases on behalf of our students and staff. Using them will help you find reliable information from trusted sources that are not freely available on the Internet.

What are journals?

Journals are regular scholarly publications that contain articles on specific subjects.

They are important in academic research for a number of reasons:

  • they are the main way in which research is published
  • they can explore a narrow topic in depth
  • they contain current or recent research findings
  • they are often peer-reviewed so that research findings are checked by other subject experts
     
  • often the author of a journal article will have carried out some primary research; perhaps a case study where they have interviewed or surveyed participants, or a clinical trial. The purpose of the article is for the authors to outline their research and present their findings and conclusions
     
  • This in-depth information is not likely to be found in books and this is why journal articles are important in finding supporting evidence for assignments.

Alt Health Watch

Alt Health Watch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care. It includes full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. Full text titles include the Journal of the Canadian Chiropractic Association, Journal of Alternative & Complementary Medicine.

The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).
Database help guide.

AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine)

AMED is an abstract and index database of articles from over 500 journals on complementary medicine and allied health professions, and is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.

The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).
Database help guide.

CINAHL with Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.  As well as providing full text for over 620 journals, Cinahl also indexes over 3,100 other journals. 

The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).
Database help guide.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library provides access to high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.

No login required.
Database help guide.  Search help is available from within the Advanced Search screen.

Index to Chiropractic Literature

The Index to Chiropractic Literature (ICL) is a comprehensive index to chiropractic literature from a wide range of chiropractic journals.

No login required.
This is an abstract and index only database, full-text is not available but can usually be found using 'Find It' and Library resources.
Database help guide.

MEDLINE Complete

MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index. This full text database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. Covering a wide range of subjects, it is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. MEDLINE is indexed with the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).

The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).
Database help guide.

PEDro

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 30,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full-text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.

No login required.
Database help guide.

PubMed

PubMed is one of the most useful databases for medical research. It is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from the journals in the MEDLINE database as well as biomedical articles from further life-science journals. PubMed covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences and is one of the most up to date biomedical databases available.

PubMed includes links to full-text journals. Select 'Abstract' from the display settings to view the 'AECC Full-text' icons.

No login required.
Database help guide.

Rehabilitation and Sports Medicine Source

Rehabilitation and Sports Medicine Source is designed for rehabilitation clinicians. It provides access to more than 180 full-text scholarly titles in the disciplines of orthopedics, physiology, nutrition, sports exercise, and physical therapy.

The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).
Database help guide.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.

The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).
Database help guide.

Need help? Ask Us!

Journals A-Z

Sources of free journals

Open Access journals from PubMed Central, BioMed Central and EBSCO Open Access are available via our journal's A-Z list. You can also search the websites below for free access to the full-text of medical journals. Sometimes they provide a mixture of free and subscription only access; and there may be restricted access to the most recent issues:

Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

HighWire Press
HighWire Press is the largest archive of free full-text science journals.

Google Scholar
As a useful addition to the most effective ways of finding full-text listed above, you can also use Google Scholar. We have uploaded our electronic journal holdings information to Google, so when you search by article title you will be alerted if Library & Learning Services has those electronic articles in stock. This is a quick way of finding full-text articles, it’s not 100% reliable but if you are in a rush to find some full-text articles this may help.

Google Scholar will find Library & Learning Services full-text articles automatically on campus. Please ask us for details if you would like to set this up for off-campus use.

Inter-Library Loans

The Inter-Library Loan service enables you to borrow items (or to receive copies of items) which are not held in our stock. Project year and Clinic year students and taught Postgraduate students are given a free allowance of 5 items per academic year. Teaching staff are not charged for inter-library loans. 

Inter-Library loan charges are subsidised at £5.00 per article. In stock articles can be photocopied for distance-learning students at 5p per (black/white) sheet copied plus £1.00 per article. To order an Inter-Library Loan please complete the form below and return it to Learning Services.