Library: Higher Education LibGuide for staff: Articles & Journals

Help and help guides

EBSCO database helpguides
Many of the databases the Library subscribes to are supplied by EBSCO, use this guide to get you started.

PubMed Quick Start Guide

Searching for literature is not an easy task, make sure you ask staff for assistance or book onto a workshop if you think you could do with some expert advice.

Inter-Library Loans

The Inter-Library Loan service enables you to borrow items (or to receive copies of items) which are not held in our stock. Project year students, Clinic year students, final year Undergraduate students, and taught Postgraduate students are given a free allowance of 5 items per academic year. Teaching staff are not charged for Inter-Library Loans.

Inter-Library Loan charges are subsidised at £5.00 per article or book chapter. In stock articles/chapters can be photocopied for distance-learning students at 5p per (black/white) sheet copied plus £1.00 per article/chapter.

Please submit requests for journal articles or book chapters by completing an Inter-Library Loan request form.

For queries, please contact Learning Services.

Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement.
An abstract & Index database; some full text may be available.
Coverage: 1966 onwards.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index. This full text database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. Covering a wide range of subjects, it is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. MEDLINE is indexed with the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).
The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is one of the most useful databases for medical research. It is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 29 million citations from the journals in the MEDLINE database as well as biomedical articles from further life-science journals. PubMed covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences and is one of the most up to date biomedical databases available.
PubMed includes links to full-text journals. Select 'Abstract' from the display settings to view the 'AECC Full-text' icons. No login required.
Index to Chiropractic Literature This link opens in a new window
The Index to Chiropractic Literature (ICL) is a comprehensive index to chiropractic literature from a wide range of chiropractic journals.
No login required.
This is an abstract and index only database, full-text is not available but can sometimes be found using 'Find It'.

99 Excellent Open Access Journals for Educators

Databases A-Z list

Find more subject databases with the A-Z list

Higher Education LibGuide for staff: Articles & Journals

FindIt Library Search

Help and help guides

Inter-Library Loans

Databases

Databases A-Z list