Start your research here! Find It searches across a huge range of library resources including databases, e-journals and e-books, and contains full-text articles for students and staff.
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (AECC University College username and password).
If you want to save links to articles to access later on, you will need to save them as permanent links rather than copying the URLs. Please see this FAQ for instructions.
EBSCO database helpguides
Many of the databases the Library subscribes to are supplied by EBSCO, use this guide to get you started.
PubMed Quick Start Guide
Searching for literature is not an easy task, make sure you ask staff for assistance or book onto a workshop if you think you could do with some expert advice.
The Inter-Library Loan service enables you to borrow items (or to receive copies of items) which are not held in our stock. Project year students, Clinic year students, final year Undergraduate students, and taught Postgraduate students are given a free allowance of 5 items per academic year. Teaching staff are not charged for Inter-Library Loans.
Inter-Library Loan charges are subsidised at £5.00 per article or book chapter. In stock articles/chapters can be photocopied for distance-learning students at 5p per (black/white) sheet copied plus £1.00 per article/chapter.
Please submit requests for journal articles or book chapters by completing an Inter-Library Loan request form.
For queries, please contact Learning Services.
This is a useful YouTube video on how to search Find It and the Ebsco databases.
Open Access journals from PubMed Central, BioMed Central and EBSCO Open Access are available via our Journals A-Z list. You can also search the websites below for free access to the full-text of medical journals. Sometimes they provide a mixture of free and subscription only access; and there may be restricted access to the most recent issues:
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
HighWire Press is the largest archive of free full-text science journals.
As a useful addition to the most effective ways of finding full-text listed above, you can also use Google Scholar. We have uploaded our electronic journal holdings information to Google, so when you search by article title you will be alerted if Library & Learning Services has those electronic articles in stock. This is a quick way of finding full-text articles, it’s not 100% reliable but if you are in a rush to find some full-text articles this may help.
Google Scholar will find Library & Learning Services full-text articles automatically on campus. Please ask us for details if you would like to set this up for off-campus use.