Library: Dietetics: Articles & Journals

Databases A-Z list

Find more subject databases with the A-Z list

Inter-Library Loans

The Inter-Library Loan service enables you to borrow items (or to receive copies of items) which are not held in our stock. Project year students, Clinic year students, final year Undergraduate students, and taught Postgraduate students are given a free allowance of 5 items per academic year. Teaching staff are not charged for Inter-Library Loans.

Inter-Library Loan charges are subsidised at £5.00 per article or book chapter. In stock articles/chapters can be photocopied for distance-learning students at 5p per (black/white) sheet copied plus £1.00 per article/chapter.

Please submit requests for journal articles or book chapters by completing an Inter-Library Loan request form.

For queries, please contact Learning Services.

Help and help guides

Many of the databases to which the Library subscribes are supplied by EBSCO. Use this guide to get you started.

PubMed Quick Start Guide

Searching for literature is not an easy task; make sure you ask staff for assistance or book onto a workshop if you think you could do with some expert advice.

Databases

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index. This full text database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. Covering a wide range of subjects, it is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. MEDLINE is indexed with the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).
The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is one of the most useful databases for medical research. It is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 29 million citations from the journals in the MEDLINE database as well as biomedical articles from further life-science journals. PubMed covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences and is one of the most up to date biomedical databases available.
PubMed includes links to full-text journals. Select 'Abstract' from the display settings to view the 'AECC Full-text' icons. No login required.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. As well as providing full text for over 620 journals, Cinahl also indexes over 3,100 other journals.
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).
The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
Rehabilitation and Sports Medicine Source This link opens in a new window
Rehabilitation and Sports Medicine Source is designed for rehabilitation clinicians. It provides access to more than 180 full-text scholarly titles in the disciplines of orthopaedics, physiology, nutrition, sports exercise, and physical therapy.
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).
The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).
The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care. It includes full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. Full text titles include the Journal of the Canadian Chiropractic Association, Journal of Alternative & Complementary Medicine.
Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).
The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association, APA PsycArticles is a comprehensive database of full-text, peer-reviewed articles, with access to 119 journals and coverage dating back to 1894.

EBSCO tutorial

This is a useful YouTube video on how to search Find It and the Ebsco databases.

How to Search for Articles using 'Find It'

Journals A-Z

A-Z Electronic Journals
To check if we have access to a specific journal use the Electronic Journals A-Z list.

Sources of free journals

Open Access journals from PubMed Central, BioMed Central and EBSCO Open Access are available via our Journals A-Z list. You can also search the websites below for free access to the full-text of medical journals. Sometimes they provide a mixture of free and subscription only access; and there may be restricted access to the most recent issues:

This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

HighWire Press is the largest archive of free full-text science journals.

As a useful addition to the most effective ways of finding full-text listed above, you can also use Google Scholar. We have uploaded our electronic journal holdings information to Google, so when you search by article title you will be alerted if Library & Learning Services has those electronic articles in stock. This is a quick way of finding full-text articles, it’s not 100% reliable but if you are in a rush to find some full-text articles this may help.

Google Scholar will find Library & Learning Services full-text articles automatically on campus. Please ask us for details if you would like to set this up for off-campus use.