Library: Staff Guide: Journals & Databases

Journals and Databases

The library provides access to thousands of journals and a range of databases for use in teaching or research. Many of the databases give you the opportunity to read full text copies of articles. You will find further information about each one in the database box on this page.

The Journals A-Z allows you to check if we have access to a specific journal.

You can use the Databases A - Z to see a full list of all the databases the library subscribes to.

Find It

Start your research here! Find It searches across a huge range of library resources including databases, e-journals and e-books, and contains full-text articles for students and staff.

Off-campus access: Institutional login required (HSU username and password).

If you find an article you would like to use in your work but can't find access to it, scroll down to the Inter-Library Loan box below to find out how to make a request.

Available Databases

Alt Health Watch
The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care. It includes full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. Full text titles include the Journal of the Canadian Chiropractic Association, Journal of Alternative & Complementary Medicine.

Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).

AMED
The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
AMED is an abstract and index database of articles from over 500 journals on complementary medicine and allied health professions and is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.

Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).

APA PsycArticles

Published by the American Psychological Association, APA PsycArticles is a comprehensive database of full-text, peer-reviewed articles, with access to 119 journals and coverage dating back to 1894.

CINAHL with Full Text
The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. As well as providing full text for over 620 journals, Cinahl also indexes over 3,100 other journals.

Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library provides access to high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
No login required.

ERIC
Education database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement.
An abstract & Index database; some full text may be available.
Coverage: 1966 onwards.

Index to Chiropractic Literature
The Index to Chiropractic Literature (ICL) is a comprehensive index to chiropractic literature from a wide range of chiropractic journals.
No login required.
This is an abstract and index only database, full-text is not available but can sometimes be found using 'Find It'.

MEDLINE Complete
The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index. This full text database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. Covering a wide range of subjects, it is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. MEDLINE is indexed with the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).

Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).

PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 42,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full-text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Institute for Musculoskeletal Health, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney.

No login required.

PubMed
PubMed is one of the most useful databases for medical research. It is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 29 million citations from the journals in the MEDLINE database as well as biomedical articles from further life-science journals. PubMed covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences and is one of the most up to date biomedical databases available.

PubMed includes links to full-text journals. Select 'Abstract' from the display settings to view the 'AECC Full-text' icons. No login required.

Rehabilitation and Sports Medicine Source
The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
Rehabilitation and Sports Medicine Source is designed for rehabilitation clinicians. It provides access to more than 180 full-text scholarly titles in the disciplines of orthopaedics, physiology, nutrition, sports exercise, and physical therapy.

Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
The contents of this database are included in 'Find It'.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.

Off-campus access: Institutional login required (university username and password).

Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate offers access to 3,655 active full-text journals, including many peer-reviewed publications. It spans various business topics, from current trends to historical information and global perspectives. It provides researchers with essential business journals such as Harvard Business Review, Fortune, and MIS Quarterly. As well as a large collection of journals Business Source Ultimate also offers case studies, industry and market reports, SWOT analyses, working reports and conference proceedings and papers.

Staff Guide: Journals & Databases

Journals and Databases

Find It

Available Databases

Inter-Library Loans

EBSCO Find It Tutorial

Help and help guides