Skip to main content

Library & Learning Services: Radiology & Images

AECC University College X-Ray & MRI Collections

Your AECC University College username and password is required to access the X-Ray Collection.

 See also: MRI Images in folder '302-403' on the network R drive.

Freely available Radiology Resources

Medical Imaging Resource Centre
The MIRC project was initiated by the RSNA Radiology Informatics Committee to construct a library of medical information, globally accessible to the imaging community through the Internet. The project has evolved to support communities of cooperating libraries, individually managed by healthcare and educational institutions, whose content can be accessed by a user as if it were a single library. The libraries can provide all kinds of digital information, including teaching files, clinical and technical documents, electronic presentations, and imaging datasets for research and clinical trials.

Radiology Masterclass
Radiology Masterclass is a growing online resource in medical imaging education, for medical students and junior doctors.

LearningRadiology.com
LearningRadiology.com is the creation of William Herring, MD, FACR. Dr. Herring is the Vice-Chairman and Radiology Residency Program Director at Albert Einstein Medical Center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The material on the site was originally intended to replace the handout notes that accompanied lectures for the medical students at Albert Einstein Medical Center.

Image Interpretation course
The Norwich Image Interpretation Course is aimed primarily at recently qualified radiographers.

Radiopaedia
Radiopaedia is an open-edit radiology resource compiled by radiologists and other health professionals.  It contains cases and collaboratively-written articles which are reviewed by editors and expert advisers for accuracy.

e-Learning for Healthcare (e-LfH)

 is a Health Education England (HEE) programme in partnership with the NHS and professional bodies such as the Royal Colleges, providing quality-assured learning materials in the form of online modules in a variety of topics in medicine, allied health, imaging (including the Ionising Radiation (Medical Exposure) Regulations (IR(ME)R), healthcare management and information skills.
If using for the first time you will need to register - please see the Registration Guide below for instructions and the link to register.
Please see the e-LfH support pages for help and further information.

Images

Finding copyright free images can be a daunting task; online images are the intellectual property of their creators and have copyright implications. To help you we have listed a number of websites where you can find images that you may be able to freely use for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Note: although many images on these sites are free to use, you need to credit the creator in the way specified. Always check the terms and conditions before use.

Creative Commons 
Has a search page where you can choose which site you want to find 'free-to-use' images from. For more information on Creative Commons see the video on this webpage.

Everystockphoto 
An image search engine allowing access to photos from many sources. Terms vary, check each licence.

FreeDigitalPhotos
Download free and premium stock photos and illustrations for websites, advertising materials, newspapers, magazines, e-books, book covers and pages, music artwork, software applications, etc. Terms vary, check each licence.

Flickr
Find photographs includes images by amateurs and professionals. Additionally, many archives use this website to host public domain images, for example the British Library. Terms vary, check each licence.

Free Images
Free Images was launched in February 2001 as an alternative for expensive stock photography. The idea was to create a site where creative people could exchange their photos for inspiration or work.

morgueFile
Contains photographs freely contributed by many artists to be used in creative projects.

Medical-specific images

Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images of Human Anatomy
Stanford School of Medicine database, images are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

U.S. National Library of Medicine Images from the History of Medicine
"Provides online access to images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.  IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century."

Wellcome Library Image Collection
One of the Wellcome Library’s major visual collections. You can search for both historical and contemporary images.

Terms vary on all of the above resources; check each licence before use!

 

Watch this video to find out more about Creative Commons